• 07 574 2037

Keeping in Touch


Bay of Plenty Volcanix named to face Taranaki

Thursday, September 20, 2018
Comments: 0

Rotorua International Stadium will play host to the first double header of the round celebrating Wahine in Rugby on Friday 21 September when the Bay of Plenty Volcanix take on Taranaki followed by the Bay of Plenty Steamers versus Waikato.

The Bay of Plenty Volcanix head coach Brendon Webby is urging his side to maintain their process in order to collect a win over the new comers to the Farah Palmer Cup competition.

“We have continued to work hard across the past couple of weeks and we are starting to demonstrate we are competitive at that next level, we just need to connect our final phases. Once we get that right and keep focusing on the process the results should come,” said Webby.

The Bay of Plenty Volcanix will see several changes this Friday; Prop Braxton Walker will make her first start of the season with Baye Jacob unavailable. Kendra Reynolds returns to her favoured blindside flanker position, with Captain Christie Yule moving to number eight.
In the backs, Renee Wickliffe will start at twelve with Emily Magee shifting onto the right wing and Tania Raharuhi moving to the bench. Utility back Olivia Richardson edges her way into the playing twenty two, with the only debutant of the evening being Whakarewarewa’s first five eight Te Rina Mohi in jersey number 20.

Bay of Plenty Volcanix:

1. Angel Mulu (3)
2. Lily Florence (16)
3. Braxton Walker (3)
4. Amanda Aldridge (8)
5. Kate Henwood (16)
6. Kendra Reynolds (22)
7. Les Elder (6)
8. Christie Yule (15) (C)
9. Jade Tuilaepa (7)
10. Ora Williams (9)
11. Polly Playle (9)
12. Renee Wickliffe (2)
13. Hana Tapiata (11)
14. Emily Magee (1)
15. Sapphire Tapsell (16)


16. Ereti Williams (20)
17. Calli Perrot (17)
18. Mikyla Wardlaw (9)
19. Tynealle Fitzgerald (3)
20. Te Rina Mohi*
21. Tania Raharuhi (10)
22. Olivia Richardson (1)

*Denotes debut
Denotes blazer game
() Denotes number of caps
In a fitting double header clash, Bay of Plenty Rugby Union will be celebrating wahine in rugby and 125 years of the suffrage movement.
There will be a number of volunteers, players’, coaches, parents and fans who have played their part in women’s rugby across the Bay of Plenty in attendance, with the inclusion of representatives from a number of Baywide Women’s Rugby Clubs including local Rotorua clubs Whakarewarewa, Rotoiti and Waikite, in addition to Rangataua and Rangiuru.
Adding to the entertainment of the evening the whanau zone will be open with skills and drills, free giveaways and pre-game autographs with the Steamers.
At the conclusion of the game the Chiefs Country Cup will be represented to the winning captain.
Game Details:
Friday 21 September
Rotorua International Stadium
Farah Palmer Cup:
Bay of Plenty Volcanix v Taranaki  
Kick-off 5.05pm
Mitre 10 Cup:
Bay of Plenty Steamers vs. Waikato
Kick-off 7.35pm
Ticket Prices on-line:
Adult: $20.00*
Students: $10.00*
Children Under 14: $5.00*
Children Under 5: Free
*additional ticketing fees will apply
Ticket Prices at the gate:**
Adult: $25.00*
Students: $15.00*
Children Under 14: $7.50*
Children Under 5: Free
Family pass: $65.00
*additional ticketing fees will apply
Tickets are available online for all Bay of Plenty Steamers Mitre 10 Cup home games held at Rotorua International Stadium at (www.boprugby.co.nz)www.boprugby.co.nz) or [www.ticketmaster.co.nz.

Alternatively tickets can be purchased from the Bay of Plenty Rugby Union offices, at any Ticketmaster outlet or at the gate on game day.

Comments RSS feed for comments on this page

    There are no comments yet. Be the first to add a comment by using the form below.

©2015 Bay of Plenty Rugby Union. All rights reserved. Web services by CG Design. Login