• 07 574 2037

Keeping in Touch


Waikato and Manawatu defend their respective Provincial Sevens titles

Saturday, January 6, 2018
Comments: 0

Today's Provincial Sevens Tournament proudly sponsored by Seeka provided plenty of sevens action as teams prepared for next weekend's Bayleys National Sevens in Rotorua on the 13 and 14 January.

Following a round robin for the Women’s team, the final game of the day saw unbeaten teams’ Manawatu and Auckland tussle it out to claim top position. Manawatu impressed spectators; the side were clinical on attack and aggressive on defensive leaving Auckland scoreless. The side defend their Bay of Plenty Provincial Sevens title winning 19-0.

In the Men's Final it was a tantalising battle between to Waikato and Counties Manukau. Waikato showed their dominance holding a 12-7 lead over Counties Manukau at the break. Returning from break Counties Manukau attacked with precision, scoring consecutive tries to hold the lead into the final minute. However in the final seconds of the game Waikato scored a converted try to tie the scores sending the teams into extra time. Waikato restarted with purpose and made no mistake scoring within seconds of extra time kicking off to claim the 24-19 victory and defend their Bay of Plenty Provincial Sevens title.

Bay of Plenty Men's and Women's Sevens sides had a mixed day at the office, however were effective during periods and punished sides when opportunities arose. Looking ahead to the Bayleys National Sevens both sides will welcome the return of their respective New Zealand Sevens players' and will utilise the week to fine tune for next weekend's natioals.

Provincial Sevens Play Off Results:

Tarawera Cup Final: Waikato 24 v Waikato 19
Tarawera Cup Semi-final 1: Waikato 14 v Samoan Barbarians 7
Tarawera Cup Semi-final 2: Counties Manukau 24 v Auckland 5

Putauaki Plate Final: Canterbury 19 v Tasman 7
Putauaki Plate Semi-final 1: Bay of Plenty 7 v Tasman 35
Putauaki Plate Semi-final 2: Wellington 17 v Canterbury 19

Mauao Bowl Final: Bay of Plenty Academy 14 v Manawatu 10
Mauao Bowl Semi-final 1: Manawatu 20 v Hawke’s Bay 17
Mauao Bowl Semi-final 2: Bay of Plenty Academy 32 v Northland 14

Women’s Final Placings:
1. Manawatu
2. Wellington
3. Auckland
4. Bay of Plenty
5. Waikato
6. Canterbury
7. North Harbour

Full Results: Click here

Comments RSS feed for comments on this page

    There are no comments yet. Be the first to add a comment by using the form below.

©2015 Bay of Plenty Rugby Union. All rights reserved. Web services by CG Design. Login