• 07 574 2037

Keeping in Touch


Chiefs Country Centurion Cup

Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Comments: 0

The Chiefs Rugby Club today have announced today the launch of the 2020 Chiefs Country Centurion Cup. The Centurion Cup will see Chiefs Country Provincial Unions Bay of Plenty, Counties Manukau, Taranaki and Waikato play a quadrangular competition in Hamilton, as curtain raisers to the Gallagher Chiefs home matches at FMG Stadium Waikato.

At the conclusion of the Centurion Cup competition, a Splice Construction Chiefs Development XV will be selected to play a one-off game against the Blues Development XV.

The competition will be bolstered with emerging talent from across the region that is expected to excite spectators with live, high level rugby before the Gallagher Chiefs take the field. Teams have been training with plenty of enthusiasm as they look forward to competing for the inaugural Centurion Cup.
Chiefs Rugby Club General Manager of Rugby Stu Williams said the series was an opportunity to expose more players to the Gallagher Chiefs coaching team.

“The Centurion Cup allows for the increase in player involvement at representative rugby level and will further assist the development of high-performance rugby players within our region. We don’t doubt it will expose a number of future Gallagher Chiefs who may potentially get called into the Gallagher Chiefs environment.”

The Centurion Cup series was created in honour of the six Gallagher Chiefs’ centurions: Liam Messam, Hika Elliot, Tanerau Latimer, Stephen Donald, Sam Cane and Brodie Retallick.

Saturday 8 February

Gallagher Chiefs vs. Crusaders, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, 7.05pm
Bay of Plenty vs. Taranaki, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, 4.25pm
Waikato vs. Counties Manukau, Fred Jones Park, Hamilton, 4.25pm

Saturday 22 February
Gallagher Chiefs vs. Brumbies, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, 7.05pm
Centurion Cup Final: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, 4.25pm
3rd and 4th Play-off: Loser Game 1 vs. Game 2, Fred Jones Park, 4.25pm

Friday 13 March

Chiefs vs. Hurricanes, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, 7.05pm kick-off
Splice Construction Chiefs Development XV vs. Blues Development XV, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton, 4.25pm

The Bay of Plenty team named to play Taranaki in Round One of the 2020 Chiefs Country Centurion Cup this Saturday:

1. Toni Toia
2. Nic Souchon
3. Nico Andeweil
4. Michael Allardice
5. Stan Van Den Hoven
6. Joe Johnston (VC)
7. Kohan Herbert
8. Abraham Papalii
9. Leroy Carter
10. Dan Hollinshead (C)
11. Joe Ravouvou
12. Seamus Bardoul
13. Dennon Robinson
14. Declan Barnett
15. Tiaan Falcon

16. Pou Sorenson
17. Chris Hemi
18. Benet Kumeroa
19. Iosefa Maloney
20. Kaydin Budd
21. Gordie Lloyd
22. Dylan Nel
23. Te Aihe Toma
24. Cassius Misa
25. Taniela Filimone
26. Pierre Pili/Faa’siu Fuatai

Comments RSS feed for comments on this page

    There are no comments yet. Be the first to add a comment by using the form below.

©2015 Bay of Plenty Rugby Union. All rights reserved. Web services by CG Design. Login