• 07 574 2037

Keeping in Touch


Revised Mitre 10 Cup Draw Released

Thursday, June 25, 2020
Comments: 0

pic banner 1

A revised 2020 Mitre 10 Cup draw has been released today by New Zealand Rugby with the competition due to kick off on Friday 11 September.

More afternoon rugby is on the cards for Provincial Unions with the introduction of an extra Sunday afternoon fixture in place of the Thursday evening slot.

The newly promoted Bay of Plenty Steamers host two evening home games at the Rotorua International Stadium and three afternoon games at the Tauranga Domain.

In their first game of the season, the Steamers will travel away to face Taranaki, they then head home in week two of the competition to host Southland in their first home game on Saturday 19th September, 7.05pm at Rotorua International Stadium.

New Zealand Rugby Head of Professional Rugby Chris Lendrum said with the renewed enthusiasm around rugby it was another important step to have confirmation of the Mitre 10 Cup calendar.

“We have seen a real surge in interest in Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa in the past few weeks and have confidence that it will continue through to Mitre 10 Cup which is a special competition in our rugby landscape.

“We know the Provincial Unions have been working hard in their preparation for this season and we are looking forward to what will be another exciting competition,” said Lendrum.

Should Ranfurly shield-holders Canterbury come away with a win in a pre-season challenge against North Otago on 28 August, the shield will be on the line in the Mitre 10 Cup. The Steamers will be hoping to contest for it this year, as they haven’t had the chance since their challenge against Hawke’s Bay in 2015.

Broadcast partners Sky have committed to broadcasting two matches a week free-to-air on Prime, extending the reach of those able to view the competition.

The Mitre 10 Cup format remains the same with a 10-week round robin leading to semi-finals for the top four teams in the premiership and championship on 20 and 21 November, with the finals the following weekend.

Kick off times will also follow in the footsteps of changes introduced in Investec Super Rugby with traditional 7.35pm fixtures now set for kick off at 7.05pm.

Consultation with New Zealand Rugby and Provincial Unions to finalise the Farah Palmer Cup schedule is currently underway, with the aim of as many double header fixtures with Mitre 10 Cup as possible.

Home game tickets and season memberships will be on sale early August from www.boprugby.co.nz.

Supporters can pre-order their Bay of Plenty Rugby supporters gear now to arrive in time for the Mitre 10 Cup season by clicking here.


Round 1: Taranaki v Bay of Plenty, Sunday 13th September, 2.05pm, TET Stadium & Events Centre, Inglewood

Round 2: Bay of Plenty v Southland, Saturday 19th September, 7.05pm, Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua

Round 3: Wellington v Bay of Plenty, Friday 25th September, 7.05pm, Sky Stadium, Wellington

Round 4: Bay of Plenty v Auckland, Friday 2nd October, 7.05pm, Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua

Round 5: Tasman v Bay of Plenty, Sunday 11th October, 2.05pm, Trafalgar Park, Nelson

Round 6: Manawatu v Bay of Plenty, Saturday 17th October, 2.05pm, Central Energy Trust Arena, Palmerston North

Round 7: Bay of Plenty v Canterbury, Saturday 24th October, 2.05pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

Round 8: Bay of Plenty v Hawke’s Bay, Sunday 1st November, 2.05pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

Round 9: Waikato v Bay of Plenty, Sunday 8th November, 2.05pm, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton

Round 10: Bay of Plenty v North Harbour, Sunday 15th November, 2.05pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

SEMI FINALS: Friday 20 November – Saturday 21 November

FINALS: Friday 27 November and Saturday 28 November

Click here to download the full 2020 Mitre 10 Cup Draw.

Comments RSS feed for comments on this page

    There are no comments yet. Be the first to add a comment by using the form below.

©2015 Bay of Plenty Rugby Union. All rights reserved. Web services by CG Design. Login