• 07 574 2037

The Steamers

The Steamers are the flagship team of the Bay of Plenty Rugby Union.

Bay of Plenty's top team were the inaugral winners of the first ever NPC is 1976 and in 2004 recorded their first ever Ranfurly Shield victory with a momentous defeat of Auckland at Eden Park. The same year saw the Bay reach the semifinals of the Air New Zealand NPC, losing to an All Black-laden Canterbury - but still finishing a creditable third in the competition.

The 2016 Steamers Squad provided a number of compelling performances on the field with a predominantly young squad,unfortunately falling short to Otago in the Championship Semi-Final. The squad are looking forward to building on last year's performance with coach Clayton McMillan at the helm once again.

2017 Steamers Mitre 10 Cup Draw

Week 1: vs Northland at Toll Stadium, Whangarei – Sunday 20 August, 2.35pm

Week 2: vs Hawkes Bay at Rotorua International Stadium – Friday 25 August, 5.45pm

Week 3: vs Wellington at Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua – Thursday 31 August, 7.35pm

Week 4: vs Manawatu at Central Energy Trust Arena – Friday 8 September, 7.45pm

Week 5: vs Taranaki at Yarrow Stadium, Taranaki – Friday 15 September, 7.45pm

Week 6: vs Southland at Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua – Wednesday 20 September, 7.35pm

Week 6: vs Counties Manukau at Tauranga Domain, Tauranga – Sunday 24 September, 2.35pm

Week 7: vs Auckland at Eden Park, Auckland – Saturday 30 September, 5.05pm

Week 8: vs Otago at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin – Saturday 7 October, 2.35pm

Week 9: vs Waikato at Tauranga Domain, Tauranga – Saturday 14 October, 2.35pm

Semi-finals: Friday 20 October – Sunday 22 October

Finals: Friday 27 October and Saturday 28 October

Home games for 2017: Hawkes Bay, Wellington, Southland, Counties Manukau, and Waikato

Away games for 2017: Northland, Manawatu, Taranaki, Auckland, and Otago

For the full 2017 Mitre 10 Cup draw click here.

©2015 Bay of Plenty Rugby Union. All rights reserved. Web services by CG Design. Login