• 07 574 2037

Keeping in Touch


Bay of Plenty Volcanix named to face Otago

Thursday, October 5, 2017
Comments: 0

Bay of Plenty Volcanix look to confirm their position in the Championship finals of the Farah Palmer Cup in their last round robin game in Dunedin this Saturday, 12:05pm. Sitting eight points above nearest rivals Otago, a win at Forsyth Bar Stadium against the home side will lock in a fast track to finals for the Volcanix.

Kaiako Matua (Head Coach) Brendon Webby has selected Nga Pou mua (forwards) who will utilise the pristine conditions at Forsyth Barr Stadium to put on a great display of fast-paced running rugby. Black Fern Lesley Elder is rewarded with her first start at Open-side flanker after a quality game off the bench against Waikato last week. The re-shuffle sees Kendra Reynolds move to blind-side and Christie Yule move to lock.  The mobile front row combination remains unchanged. Nga Pou mua on the bench will be waiting for their chance to take the field, particularly Teilani Thompson who is eager to make her debut.

Shaye Whareaorere secured her starting position after displaying her territory kicking game in last weekend cross-over game. Ora Williams, returning from injury, will replace Jade Tuilaepa as she sits out due to a knee injury. The powerful mid-field combination of Raharuhi and Clarke is unchanged, along with the swift outside Pou muri (backs) who will look to exploit space out wide. In an exciting injection of speed and flare to the side debutant Kororia Heyblom joins Zaan Scott on the bench. Heyblom was an integral part of the Bay of Plenty Under 18 team that dominated the chiefs division of the Northern Regions competition.
Bay of Plenty Volcanix:
1. Luka Connor (24)
2. Lily Florence (11)
3. Ereti Williams (15)
4. Kaci James (23) – Co-Captain
5. Christie Yule (11) – Co-Captain
6. Kendra Reynolds (17)
7. Lesley Elder (1)
8. Sequoia Autumn Te Aonui (5)
9. Ora Williams (4)
10. Shaye Whareaorere (10)
11. Sapphire Tapsell (12)
12. Tania-Rose Raharuhi (5)
13. Aryahn Clarke (8)
14. Autumn-Rain Stephens-Daly (16)
15. Crystal Mayes(5)
16. Julie Lewis (8)
17. Braxton Walker (1)
18. Amanda Aldridge (4)
19. Teilani Thompson
20. Julia Buescher (5)
21. Kororia Heyblom

22. Zaan Scott (5)
Game Details:
Saturday 7 October
Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off 12.05pm
Live Sky Sport 1, 12.05pm

() Denotes number of games
*Denotes Blazer game
** Denotes Debut

Comments RSS feed for comments on this page

    There are no comments yet. Be the first to add a comment by using the form below.

©2015 Bay of Plenty Rugby Union. All rights reserved. Web services by CG Design. Login