Farmlands Baywide Premier Mens Rugby

The Club Working Group (as set out in schedule 4 of the BOPRU Constitution) is responsible for formulating the senior mens and womens competitions to be played in the Bay of Plenty region.  Known as "Baywide Premier Rugby", this competition is contested by the top twelve  (12) premier clubs from across the region.

For the 2024 season,  the top twelve (12) clubs have been determined by the table rankings of the 2023 Premier Mens competition, with Marist St Michaels promoted to Baywide Premier Mens and Katikati relegated to Western Bay Senior Local for 2024. (See below)

  1. Te Puna
  2. Mount Maunganui Sports
  3. Tauranga Sports 
  4. Te Puke Sports
  5. Whakarewarewa
  6. Rangiuru
  7. Greerton Marist
  8. Rangataua
  9. Ngongotaha
  10. Judea
  11. Rotoiti
  12. Marist St Michaels

The 2024 competition will consist of a single eleven (11) match home and away series with a finals series  culimnating in a Baywide Premier Mens Champion being crowned. The window for this new format will be between Saturday 13 April - Saturday 27th July 2024.  This is three weeks longer than in 2023 and only 2 weeks before the kick off of the 2024 Bunnings NPC competition.  The reason for the window extension is because the participating clubs voted to not play Easter, Kings Birthday or Matariki long weekends.  The result of this decision by the participating clubs is that any contracted Steamers player or anyone selected to play for the Steamers in any NPC pre-season game will not be available for selection for their club from Saturday 13th July 2024 onwards.

After the completion of the 11 week round robin competition, the 12th placed team will be relegated to sub union rugby in 2025.

There's been a change to the finals format for 2024.

The top six teams will play quarter finals (1v6, 2v5, 3v4) on Saturday 13th July 2024, with teams ranked 1-2 & 3 to host.

​​​​​​​The semi finals will be contested on Saturday 20th July 2024 as follows:

  1. Highest ranked QF winner v Top ranked Q/F loser
  2. 2nd highest ranked QF winner v 3rd ranked QF winner ​​​​​​​

The final will be played on Saturday 27th July 2024 between the 2 x semi final winners, with the highest ranked semi final winner to hot.

While this competition is underway, the three sub unions will be playing their own local sub union competitions.

Sub Union Contacts


The Senior Club Working Group is made up of nine (9) community based volunteers, three (3) from each of our three sub unions, with one of those representatives from each sub union to come from the Womens game, one (1) member of the board and and one (1) management representative.  It's purpose is to:

1.Assist the board in setting the Senior Club Rugby competition format for men and women and draws each year in the district. 

2. Provide advice to the board and management on how to be more responsive to club and sub union needs and views.

3. Assist in improving relationships with the Rugby community, stakeholders, sponsors and other community providers and agencies.

4. To promote greater awareness of Rugby related issues and challenges along with positive outcomes.

The responsibilities of the Senior Club Working Group are:

  • Advise the Board in relation to the promotion and improvement of the health of the Rugby community including women’s rugby.
  • Support Rugby promotion initiatives in the community e.g. workshops, seminars, coaching / player /manager / administrator pathways and any other related skill set courses.
  • Support the goal of seeking greater Rugby community awareness and involvement.
  • Advise BOPRU on how to be more responsive to Rugby community needs and views.
  • Foster relationships and partnerships with club, sub-union, community and other sports related providers.
  • Respect the confidentiality of the meeting discussions and not to disseminate unofficial information or comments.
  • Respond to communications within the time period given.
  • Appoint a member of the Board Appointments Panel.

The current delegates of the Senior Club Working Group are:

Chairperson: Warena Morgan ( Board Member)

WBOP: Mike Steel, Greg Stephenson and Jarvy Aoake

CBOP: Stephen Hurring, Tina Stephens and Lee Uerata

EBOP: Tunihia Tupe, Noi Elmiger & (vacant)

BOPRU Management: Pat Rae GM Community Rugby