Best Premier Referee

First Awarded


Current Criteria

Voted by Premier Coaches/Assistant Coaches (only 1 per club) using a 5-3-1 system.


This trophy was carved by referee Mate Samuels to recognize the achievements of both Keith and Bryce Lawrence and their services to Bay of Plenty refereeing. It is a ‘Patu’ which was used in battle in old times. Both Keith and Bryce have battled through many years in the refereeing world. At the handle is a ‘Manaia’ head figure which represents both Keith and Bryce. This award is for the best referee in the Premier Men's competition. It is voted on by the coaches of the Premier Mens teams.


2016 Shane McDermott

2017 Jamie Bell

2018 John Dustow

2019 Sam Fellows

2021 Peter Morgan

2022 Peter Morgan