• 07 574 2037

Keeping in Touch


2020 Farah Palmer Cup Draw Released

Friday, July 17, 2020
Comments: 0

The country’s top women’s rugby players will be in action in a nine-week Farah Palmer Cup with the 2020 draw released by New Zealand Rugby today.

Fans will be treated to some thrilling action with leading Black Ferns and Black Ferns Sevens players representing their Provincial Unions across 39 matches, kicking off on Saturday 22 August.

New Zealand Rugby’s Head of Women’s Rugby Cate Sexton said Provincial Unions are well under way in their preparation for what promises to be an exciting season.

“There is a lot on the line this season because the level of competition continues to grow, and players will be eager to impress. The allure of a black jersey, with the World Cup at home next year will no doubt bring the best out of players and teams,” said Sexton.

The Farah Palmer Cup will be played in two pools split geographically with Northland, North Harbour, Auckland, Counties Manukau, Waikato, Bay of Plenty and Taranaki making up the seven-team North pool.

The South pool will start on Saturday 5 September with Manawatu, Hawke’s Bay, Wellington, Tasman and Otago joining reigning champions Canterbury.

The top two teams from each pool take part in crossover semi-finals and the Final will be held a week later on 17 October.

At least 16 matches are set to be broadcast live on Sky Sports during round robin and a weekly highlights show will make sure fans can be across all the best action.

The Bay of Plenty Volcanix will be playing in two double header games with Mitre 10 Cup teams, one of which will be in front of a home crowd at the Rotorua International Stadium.


Week 1: Counties Manukau v Bay of Plenty, Saturday 22nd August, 2.05pm, Navigation Homes Stadium, Pukekohe

Week 2: Bay of Plenty v Northland, Saturday 29th August, 2.00pm, Blake Park, Mount Maunganui

Week 3: BYE

Week 4: Bay of Plenty v North Harbour, Friday 11th September, 4.35pm, North Harbour Stadium North Harbour (Double Header with Mitre 10 Cup teams)

Week 5: Bay of Plenty vs Waikato, Saturday 19th September, 4.35pm, Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua (Double Header with Mitre 10 Cup teams)

Week 6: Bay of Plenty vs Taranaki, Saturday 26th September, 2.00pm, Blake Park, Mount Maunganui

Week 7: Bay of Plenty vs Auckland v Bay of Plenty, Saturday 3rd October, 2.00pm, Venue TBC

SEMI FINALS: Friday 9 October – Sunday 11 October

FINALS: Friday 16 October – Sunday 18 October

Click here to download the 2020 Farah Palmer Cup draw.

Comments RSS feed for comments on this page

    There are no comments yet. Be the first to add a comment by using the form below.

©2015 Bay of Plenty Rugby Union. All rights reserved. Web services by CG Design. Login